BEETS!

It’s time to change out beds:

Here they are.  This bed will get peppers tomorrow.

An up=close picture!

The promised snack:  I had read about steaming beet greens and my all female upper level class are game to try it.  There were a few caterpillars chomping on the leaves, but I got enough good greens for a taste for our small class.

The beets.

I couldn’t get a good pic of them in the pot.  And those are bubbles.  Just as the water started boiling, I put the greens in a basket over the beets in the water.

I tasted a bite of the greens — they are like spinach in texture, but not stinky and taste sort of like beets.

 

Leave a Reply

