We Support the Military RAH RAH RAH . . . Unitil We Don’t BOO BOO BOO

It comes to this.  The Republicans, even the ones who haven’t taken office yet are against ratifying the new START treaty that the President negotiated, and now he has to go to Portugal this weekend in a weakened position vis-a-vis Russia.

USA! USA! USA!

I remember during the election in 2008 that wingnut bloggers were freaking out over Obama’s position on nuclear weapons and screaming about how he wanted to do this that or the other, when in fact, Obama’s position was the same as the military’s and a good number of former secretaries of state, mostly Republican.

USA! USA! USA!

These incoming Republicans claim that their election reflects their constituents stance on the START treaty’s ratification.  Now I followed this election pretty closely, and I don’t remember any of these guys taking a strong stance on the ratification of this treaty.  I don’t remember any of them talking much about foreign policy at all.   They all talked a lot about changing the Constitution, while advocating close adherence to it.  They talked a lot about taxes and the deficit/debt, while not getting that the electorate is mostly worried about jobs.

But mostly, I think these not even Senators yet want to show some muscle.  Damn what the military wants.  Damn what the public wants.  Damn what is in the best interest of the security of this country.  Damn all that and more.  It is more important for them to try to embarrass our president and wag their dicks.

USA! USA!USA! USA!

4 responses to “We Support the Military RAH RAH RAH . . . Unitil We Don’t BOO BOO BOO

  1. On ‘This week’ I thought it was telling that George Will’s ‘best’ response was to say that he would take John Kyl at his word. He couldn’t offer a single bit of supporting argument and so has to resort to “it’s not about politics because I like John Kyl and he wouldn’t do that” … pretty weak. I like Ed Luce (Financial Times) … I don’t always agree with what he says but he’s a good bit of Euro fresh air to add to the round-table mix … My initial doubts about Christiane A. have largely been balanced out my her interesting network of non-US, non-think-tank contacts.

  2. In my mind they are all about party and not about country. It’s like the time I called Michael Berry and asked him if I didn’t agree with him and “real Americans” did that mean I was an “unreal American” or what. He screamed, per usual.

  3. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your web
    site. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems?
    A few of my blog visitors have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera.

    Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

  4. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you
    relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw
    away your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be giving us something informative to read?

Leave a Reply

