While Others Have Forgotten Them

The last combat troops are out of Iraq.  While it’s not everyone, it’s what was promised.  And don’t give me any crap about The Surge.  This could have been achieved sooner and with less loss of life without The Surge.  And don’t tell me that Obama is doing the same thing in Afghanistan.  APPLES AND ORANGES.

Here’s John McCain.

And just look at what Kathleen has been blogging about.  It’s not Iraq.

This is very good news, especially since it is ahead of schedule.  Here’s hoping Afghanistan can work out the same way.  After hearing Petraeus last Sunday, I do have hope.

Added later — and I remember all of the trepidation I felt when I knew W was keen on invading, all of the political pressure put on the House and Senate to vote before the first midterm elections, all of the name calling — especially calling those of us against the invasion traitors, all of the smart-ass and holier-than-thou nonsense of Kathleen (she still clucks over whether your comment is “civil” and never apologizes for name-calling or admits to being wrong).  I remember following what had happened to Margaret Hassan.  I remember being so frustrated with someone at work over her opposition to a peace march that I almost lost my job.  I remember Bill Bennett claiming that if we would do in Iraq what Ethiopia had done with Somalia at that time, we would “win” in Iraq.  Clue bat: the Ethiopians are still struggling in Somalia.  It’s no better or even worse than it was in 2006.

It just all comes flooding back, especially how people like Kathleen were cheer leading while it was fashionable, but later, forgot, because you know politics is all about the current shiny thing.

7 responses to “While Others Have Forgotten Them

  1. I agree … it is shocking how the “support the troops” crowd have shamelessly gone silent … I guess it’s not exciting enough any more or something …

  2. That is true. I think we should have a big celibration for the end of the Iraq War and to welcome home our troops.

  3. Call Michale Berry? Why, he can come up with his own topics.

  4. Oh I’m good, no worries.

Leave a Reply

