The 4th of July

This and New Year’s are my least favorite holidays (Thanksgiving is my all time favorite).  Am I unpatriotic, you ask?  I’ve been called so.  I’m also practical.  When I was a child, I thought playing with sparklers, setting off firecrackers and watching the fireworks show at the Gains County Cemetery were fun.   When I lived in Midtown, I watched the drunken hoards race each other out of downtown Houston from my balcony.  When I bought my house, at first I thought I could call someone like the Fire Marshall — they even publicized a number — when my neighborhood lit up and fireworks rained down on my and my neighbor’s homes.  No one ever responded.  Then one year, we had a fire in the house behind us, and we all freaked out a bit.

I don’t like the 4th of July because of my fellow idiot Americans.  I like my house.  It’s where I live.  I don’t want it to burn down just so some idiot can have a little illegal fun.

With all of the rain we’ve had in the past few days, I think we will be ok, despite the idiots who have already started their idiocy.  I’ve got two new garden hoses and plenty of rainwater stored just in case though.

In the meantime, here are some pics from today:

We had some little visitors for late breakfast.

One has the nose coloring of Big Guy, but it’s black, not grey.

I took these from inside the utility room.

From the deck.

Such little winks.

June’s always watching.

I can’t find the trigger for my trap, so I’m pretty useless at this point.  If they come back, I’ll either make one or get another trap.  With UnPop around, these little ones might not last long.

I love June.  We had a good morning together.  I think she misses our time together when I don’t work in the backyard for at least a few hours  (just checking on stuff after work doesn’t seem to count as quality time for her).

I ran some errands and came home for lunch.  Dora and I have a new favorite thing:  The Greek Gods Traditional Plain Greek Yogurt.  I bought the green lable (don’t know if there is any difference).  I expected it to taste like every day regular yogurt, so I made some cheese from most of it (mixed in a bit of salt, put it in cheesecloth and drained it in the fridge), but then I decided to taste just a bit.  It is delicious.  Dora agrees:   WE LOVE IT.

It’s on her nose but not for long.

Did she drip a bit on my pant leg?  No, but it’s always good to check.

She can see what is in my hand even if you can’t!

Lunch Dora wants.  And mom, too.

The end of lunch . . . almost.

Finishing up.

A nap after dinner.  When I went out, Big Guy was drooling, but he got it under control.  He made kissy-face with June.  I think that it comforts him to have June around.  She may not love him, but she accepts him, and that is all that matters to an old warrior.  He has a place to stay safe; a place where he has friendlies.

I love my kitties.

Leave a Reply

