Some Video Links Plus Added Rants

I don’t get this. He doesn’t really say anything and his pronoun references are completely vague.  It looks like someone in the GOP lower levels is trying to push the NJ gov for prez.  What about Rick Perry!!!!1!!1!1!

Sarah Palin gets put on the spot.  I can think of quite a number of people more qualified to yap about the oil spill.  Michael Berry isn’t one of them.

White male Seattle idiot police officer punches a young black woman in the face. Commenters say she deserved it.  It’s hard to watch.  I don’t think I could have stood there and just recorded it. Cops can just be criminals with guns.  One Bellaire cop shot a pro baseball player and got off — nothing happened to him.  Michael Berry blamed the baseball player’s mother for the shooting.  FAIR ENOUGH?

Related:  Pasty white boy gets ruffed up by 68 year old.  The same people showing there “balls” about a cop punching a 19 year old black girl get misty-eyed and cry Assault!!!!  Assault!!!!! when it’s one of their own.  These people are insufferable.

Lastly, I am SICK of pasty white people telling African Americans that this that or the other is their problem.  As I have said again and again, why can’t all of the pasty white concern trolls take a look at their own poor white folks and fix that?   Michael Berry and Bill Bennett need to quit acting like they’re black and get with taking care of all of the poor whites.  Wouldn’t that be novel?

Pasty white guy wants drug testing.  Who is going to pay for that?  Does the Utah Senator have some interest in a drug testing kit company?  Does the Utah Senator have a problem with people who are down on their luck?  I’d like to see him submit to a drug test on the teevee first.  Dick.

Lastly, I’m about ready to build a Mexico City style wall around my damn house.  Someone put the nicely bundled vegetation I had ready to go for next month’s green pick up by the city in my recycle cart, destroying the very expensive new freaking green yard waste bag I had ready in the process.  Whoever it was left my recycle cart in the middle of the driveway, too.  Oh, and whoever it was, cut up my Lantana, too.

Dicks — all of them.

18 responses to “Some Video Links Plus Added Rants

  1. unrelated comment! missed ya at work but will be over on Sun more likely than Sat … will try & buzz later!

  2. watched all the links! wowee! the worst was of course the cop hitting the woman in the face … send that pig to some anger management classes now! … Palin is shrill and dumb, and therefore, totally consistent with what we’ve come to expect … the NJ governor was not nearly as entertaining as his audience, but the comments of ‘tigerhawk’ about what an awesome and articulate speaker Governor big-boy waistband is were a little on the ‘sparkly’ embarrassing side of over-the-top … I did enjoy “WHO ARE YOU???” … ha ha … boy were those college boys totally NOT expecting that!

    • Everything is ok. I must have been out front with the pups when you called. I haven’t heard anything about meeting the family on Sunday, but we shall see. It would be nice if my mom and sis let my bro and family just enjoy the day.

      One thing that I have noticed is that the conservatives/republicans are trying too hard to “sell” their people. Sure Palin sells because the party is now made up of pasty white men who fantasize about her and pasty white women who want to be her, but praising every last person on their side as a”genius” or “brilliant” goes a little too far.

      While the dems have made some missteps, I think our prospects for the fall are better than the common wisdom gives them credit for.

      We have a long hot summer ahead of us and I am not going to wish my life away. It’s too much fun watching the cucumbers grow. 🙂

  3. yes, agreed … so I’ll plan on Sunday …

  4. here’s a video –

    • Change the subject. You know that is what all of the wing nuts do. Why do you do that? Are you another wingnut? Someone who wants the Republicans to take over next year. Do you want to punish Obama that way?

      You must raise your hand in defiance every time Michael Berry insults you.

    • Oh, so now photogs and reports are being let in to see? Wasn’t that your complaint before?

      Your treehugger link omits part of the AP article — the part that states: while promising to protect critical migratory bird and caribou habitat.

      I guess you don’t trust them.

      The only solution to the BP well disaster is a relief well. They started the two they have after the explosion and leak. I think requiring the oil companies to drill those relief wells simultaneously would do a lot to avoid this in the future.

      I’m beginning to think you don’t live on the Gulf coast. You don’t get how hard it is here to push this giant state leftward. All the while you are tearing down the best hope we have had to turn this state blue in a long time.

      Like I’ve said before — you seem to be working for a Republican take over of the house if not the senate.

      Divided government is what you are pushing for.

  5. http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/nation/la-na-science-obama-20100711,0,4320861.story

    The outrageous “65 ft” corporate fascist censorship rule is still firmly in place, don’t you fret. And poisonous dispersants are gushing into the Gulf in unprecedented volume – solely to minimize bp liability at the cost of ecocide. Shweet !

    “While protecting…” is boilerplate for rape the planet, surely you understand that much. Just as they swore to protect all those walruses in the Gulf.

    Precisely because we are both in Texas – you also know full well that our presidential votes are totally irrelevant. We do have the luxury of making symbolic gestures on that level, and I will have a new gesture for corporatist Obp come 2012. Meanwhile i have Bill White signs up in my yard and a list of Green candidates for certain lower offices.

    Not that any of this will make the slightest difference in our hell bent pursuit of total idiocracy and complete environmental collapse.

    Let the Obp hell disaster and ruination of the Gulf forever stand as the real face of “pragmatism”, and “good stewardship”. Obama can capitulate on healthcare, on banking, on wars even – and i barely raise an eyebrow.

    But fucking over the Gulf – that is the one and only bright red line that must never be crossed, and he drove right over it in a bp hummer.

    • If I recall correctly, the EPA called for and got BP to stop using the toxic dispersants. Obama got BP to get on the stick as far as clean up and establishing a fund to compensate those who have losses.

      The Gulf of Mexico has been a cesspool of tar balls and oil and dead sharks and other marine life for years. If you have actually lived here you know what I mean. The tar balls rolling up on Galveston are the same ones that do all the time. It’s the Port of Houston that drags all that shit in here and it has for years.

      Is BP cleaning up the mess they made? Not quick enough for me, despite their friendly little commercials. Is the Obama administration doing enough? I think they are. For all of your pearl clutching, they are doing what they can until BP gets the relief well drilled. That is what I have told you before. This problem will be solved when the relief wells payoff. All of the other stuff is just for your consumption. It is precisely targeted at you and people who think like you. All of the different tricks BP has tried have been in response to people like you squalling for SOMETHING TO BE DONE. The only thing that will stop it is a relief well.

      Why did BP use the dispersants? You all screaming.

      Why did BP use the junk shot and the top hat and all that shit? Because you all needed something.

      Correct me if I am wrong, but you don’t seem to understand that the relief well is the only solution.

      And you still have no criticism for Jindal not using all of his resources nor for Barbour wondering where the oil was.

      Give me a freaking break. You can’t even give Obama one term to get things sorted out, despite 24/7 radio and cable teevee bashing him — and you know why. We can’t have a black man get it right as president. You know this. You live here. You know this.

    • You and Michael berry — he picked up on your criticism.

      You and Michael berry sitting in a tree.

      Just wait. The relief well will be done next month.

      Why haven’t you asked the most important question?

      All politics — is that why?

  6. You don’t seem to be following this hellish story very closely. The epa did make a show of calling for bp to stop using corexit – and bp told them to fuck off. So they did. And the dispersants keep flowing.

    Your pollyana acceptance of O’bp bullshit is astonishing. Check your partisan loyalty, it is worthless in the face of these crimes.

    The gulf a cesspool ? Wow. What a disgusting and ignorant thing to say. You’d make a BP press flak blush.

    The relief wells may not work either sunshine. Meanwhile the outrageous lack of clean up, the massive use of dispersants, and the state-corporate suppression of the story are all inexcusable crimes.

    Jindal and Barbour are opportunist buffoons beneath contempt, same as Landrieu, Vitter, and all those oil-soaked liars regardless of party.

    Read this –

    http://dahrjamailiraq.com/hell-has-come-to-south-louisiana#more-1857

    • Read this.

      Looks like you fell into a media hysteria trap.

      And please tell me about the pristine beaches at Galveston. The traffic from the ship channel has kept the surrounding water stirred up for years as foreign vessels use our bay as a toilet to dump their waste.

  7. Your (pro bp) op-ed of may 24 does not even dispute that corexit is being used. It only suggests that it is done with the epa’s blessing, and seeks to obfuscate any profit motive on bp’s part for insisting on the most toxic, corexit. EPA’s face-saving approval of corexit is only more ominous than were its token objections. The pecking order is not much in dispute, and doesn’t much matter to me in terms of dispersant – which should not be used at all. Not corexit, nor any other brand.

    Mojo – June 23
    “Prior to the May conference call, the EPA had directed BP to find a less toxic alternative and start using it within three days. But BP refused, arguing that there weren’t any better products available in the volumes the company needed. This led Jackson on the call to pledge that the EPA would conduct its own tests on Corexit and the alternatives—tests which the agency has not yet concluded.”

    http://motherjones.com/environment/2010/06/epa-bp-toxic-oil-dispersant

    Galveston beaches are not, YET, significantly impacted by the gusher. Test results are still outstanding on oil found in local crab larvae. And the huge quantities of poisonous dispersant and oil negligently left to float in the gulf may yet drift our way. The secondary effects of oxygen depletion and ripping the food web to pieces will likely not spare us either.

    The dredging and traffic of the ship channel, while harmful to our bay system, has nothing whatsoever to do with the health or destruction of the Gulf. Nor do any of the many insults done to the Galveston Bay system over the years. Neither does the terrible industrial pillage done to the entire Louisiana coast and Mississippi Delta for that matter, begin to minimize, or excuse any aspect of the BP hell disaster. Not in the slightest degree.

    The bays and beaches of Galveston are indeed ‘pristine’, compared to what Obp has done to the rest of the Gulf. (So were the abused marshes of Louisiana) I dearly love Galveston bay, and have lived and fished here for most of my life. (5th generation Houstonian btw) Despite everything, they are still thriving ecosystems, but Obp’s deadly oil will exterminate all that for many decades, wherever it goes.

    • You know, I don’t really want to argue back and forth about this. I was heartbroken when I heard of the explosion. It meant that people died and that oil would flow into the Gulf. When the rig sank, my heart sank. I’ve lived here most of my life (I was born in West Texas and my family moved here when I was four). My father used to take my sister and I out to Galveston to fish. He would wade out into chest deep water and my sister and I would tread water holding onto his belt loops. Later, I was tall enough to stand next to him to fish. Even then, you couldn’t see your feet through the water.

      I have memories also of seeing trash, tarballs and dead animals on the beach at Galveston. It’s been that way for years. I know that the ship channel is a big part of our city’s economic engine, but I have always disliked the trash aspect of that business. Galveston’s beaches are not pristine in the accepted meaning of that word. I’ve been to pristine beaches in Latvia and Estonia — beaches rarely touched by humans and no shipping nearby. That’s what I call pristine.

      You might be surprised to know that I am against all off-shore drilling. It’s antiquated — the technology is not very different from what was used in the 1970’s. The oil companies don’t put their profits into research. I know that is a lie.

      We both care about the Gulf. I view it differently from you, but I live here and care about it. I wish that the shipping could be accomplished in a cleaner way — I wish that there were on oil rigs. I don’t think I will see that before I die, but every day, I try to use as little oil and gas products as possible. I try to support politicians who at least are so obviously just in it for personal gain or to promote the oil industry, though you know that is difficult to do here in Houston. I support efforts to use our resources more wisely. I give what I can to help people in need.

      Realistically, the cap thing BP put on today will hopefully hold — I’m cautiously hopeful — and the relief wells will connect up soon. The clean up will continue and the efforts to save the wildlife — like turtle eggs — will make the recovery faster.

      You know, I didn’t make this happen, and I don’t think I deserve the harshness that you have shown me. But as you can probably tell, I’m no shrinking violet.

      And you know, Obama didn’t make this happen either. If you have any experience dealing with unscrupulous people, you must also know that antagonizing them won’t encourage their cooperation. The administration had to work with BP to get them to do the work.

      And making a funny little name for the president isn’t cute. It’s just kind of juvenile — like Michael Berry calling him Pooky or Chris Baker calling him PeeBo.

    • I wonder if you are watching The PBS News Hour now.

  8. Ok noob – i realize we’re not actually political enemies generally. I admire and commend your gardening, and share your love of cats. And best of all i like the way you give rightwing radio skunks hell. But i part ways when it comes to party loyalty. I have none whatsoever even on a good day. And in this disaster, as i’ve tried to express, Obama has offended my deepest core values in the most excruciatingly painful and spectacular way possible. Complacency in the face of that does get up my nose.

    The news hour, sponsored by Chevron ? Why yes, i did take a peak at it, but tuned out as Lehrer started to marvel at the heroic skill and high drama of the ROV operators. (reeling for the vomit bag).

    The nicknames are qualitatively different – Berry+Baker are merely cynical race-baiting provocateurs. I use O’bp here as pointed shorthand for Obama’s pitiful subservience to this rapacious corporate machine. The way these horrendous events have unfolded – it is entirely warranted.

    http://www.treehugger.com/files/2010/03/wtf-obama-expands-offshore-drilling-beyond-bush.php

    • Why call me noob? What name have I ever called you? I am loyal to my party because, first and foremost, I think Jimmy Carter was right about just about everything. The peace he brought between Israel and Egypt has lasted to this very day. He was right to have put solar panels on the White House and had industry taken up that lead you and I wouldn’t be disagreeing today.

      You can talk down to me and call me names, but your narrow point of view will not make anything better. You may feel better about yourself, but it won’t stop any drilling.

      And no, I meant the part of the News Hour about how many biologists are in the Gulf monitoring the wildlife. It seems YOUR politics are more important than what is actually happening. I suppose you are still clinging to the idea that CNN and others can’t get to where they want to go. Have you ever looked at the detail of Google Earth? Are you and others seriously trying to tell me that NO ONE, NOT CNN or whoever have a satellite that could take pictures? But that’s not it, right? CNN et all want some gotcha crap on the administration. That’s what you all are looking for.

      Save your patronizing for someone who cares. Your name calling is no different than Chris Baker and Michael Berry. You are in the boat with them in your “pristine” Galveston Bay. I’m not.

      And just because you have chosen to queer this thread and Roberto can’t find it, he would attest to my primary party affiliation. I am an anarcho-syndicalist at heart. Have been for a long time. I also know what side my bread is buttered on.

Leave a Reply

