Another Evening in the Garden

I sifted more of the dirt piles and planted the rest of the hot peppers.  The squash are hanging in there — even the one I thought would be dead by now.

I’ve decided I need a bug book with lots of pictures.  I don’t know what this is, but it sure is cool:

At first, I thought it was a dead leaf stuck on my trellis.  But that’s the point, right?

Pretty impressive, yes?  I looked at it for a long while.  I don’t know if it is friend or foe, but it doesn’t matter.  I’m not messing with it.  No way.

I love moon plants.

Can you find my helpers?

The Orphan Cucumbers

The smallest sunflower is the only one with, ummm, a flower.

My embarrassingly audacious front yard sunflowers.  The fence is 4 foot plus, so these big boys are approaching 8 feet.

The orchid tree survived the deep freeze, but we had to cut it all the way back.  It survived Hurricane Ike as well, so I am certain it will be back in all of its glory by next year.

I can’t remember what the name of this plant is, but it attracts honeybees and butterflies.  I cut it all the way down (it had been taller than the house) after the freeze almost killed it.  In the past, it has been a quick growing large bush, so I am hopeful about its recovery.

For Dora, this is not a swimming pool, but rather a very large water bowl.

Pretty girl 🙂

My helpers followed into the front.  I really enjoy working in the garden — and spending time with these silly kittens is part of the reason why.  Junebug always watches me work, unless she has found a sweet spot to sleep.  Harry has to investigate everything I do once I have moved on.  He’s only mashed a few plants and I don’t freak out about it like I did in March or April.  He’s too cute.  Especially when I chase him out of the beds.

One more pic a Pretty Doh

Tomorrow I will get more green beans started.

7 responses to “Another Evening in the Garden

  1. Its a Moth 🙂

  2. I know that, but I don’t know it’s name.

  3. Everytime I see those sunflowers I can’t help but laugh. Oh well, it’s not like they’re called subtleflowers.

  4. Super interesting read! Honestly.

  5. Super great post! Honestly..

Leave a Reply

