Happy Mother’s Day

Then there’s Father’s Day in June, Independence Day in July; what nothing to give the pretext of buying something in August?

I’m sick of it.  This year even Valentine’s Day became a way for my mom and sister to bribe my nieces with gifts for their love — and they always show the one they favor.

I’ve told my mom before that I know and those girls know who she loves most.  It’s obvious, just like it is to me to this very day.  I know I am third out of three, always have.  The sibs that aren’t in last place have no idea what it’s like.  All of the “mom” stuff in the media just makes it worse.

Speaking as the daughter of a mother who has never been egalitarian with her love and attention, here’s a pro tip:  if you love one child over another, never let it be known.  The best advice is to just not do it in the first place.

I’ll be happy when this whole dance of my mom’s and sister’s is over.

Leave a Reply

