Camping Out (pt. 2)

Roberto here … sounds like Edward R. Murrow during the Blitz, eh?

Okay, so it’s late Wednesday night and we’re all drifting off to sleep. Tammy & Murphy are out in the living room (occasional “I’m here!”-barks from Murph). The rest of us are reproducing the geography of the Middle East. I’m the West Bank, Cisco is to the northeast like Syria, Caroline is right behind me like Jordan, and Dora is sprawled across the peninsula of the bed like Saudi Arabia. Peaceful and quiet, although many wheezes and snorts and grunts from Miss Dora. At one point she let out a long strange hissing sort of sigh that ended in a squeak and all 4 of us lifted our heads and stared at each other (including Dora who looked from one to the other of us like ‘what? what?!’). And then the rain started and thunder and lightning and Caroline decided she’d occupy me. But gravity took over and like a black & white mudslide Caroline underwent a tectonic shift and slid down between me and the edge of the bed to become Israel. Dora filled in the vacuum behind me and Cisco decided he wanted to be Lebanon and share my pillow. More rain, more thunder, more lightning.

And then! The incident! I’m not sure whether Murph heard a pop or what but he suddenly let go with the funniest bark I’ve heard out of him yet. A sort of heavy-machine gun sound (bark-bark-barkity-bark-barkity-barkity-bark, on and on). Dora joined in, Cisco decided he’d check my head for lice with his razor toes and Caroline fell overboard. It was time to get up and investigate so I reached over and turned on the lamp. No light. Hey! and the alarm clock(s) were dark. I stumbled around and went into the kitchen. No stove light. That entire side of the house was dark. I let Tammy & Murphy out just so I could think and managed to locate Curious George and my crocs, turned on the lamp by the tv, and ventured out through the mini-lakes of the front yard to the fusebox. Luckily there was enough light from the streetlamps to back-up George. With Tammy breathing heavily on my shivering bare legs (such a supportive puppy-girl) I managed to turn everything back on. YaY!

Back inside I re-set all the clocks and then went and had a cigarette (Caroline came and sat on me and tried ever so hard to put out my cig … with her eye!!!). By now it was 5:30 or so but I got the pups back in and got another hour or so of sleep.

When I got here after work on Thursday everybody was fine and I fed them (OKs as well), let the puppy-shift happen without rushing them and went off to rehearsal. As I was going to the car I saw Braveheart just sitting by Tam-house and then noticed that a baby possum was having a bit of kitty food. I didn’t say anything or shoo it away as Braveheart seemed more curious than upset but it went hurrying away down the newly-cleared lane between the shed and the fence. There’s a historical alliance between the OKs and the possums resident in this area so I guess they were working on their “special relationship”.

This morning Junie was waiting at the back (her and Tammy have been having snort-fests through the door), Braveheart was curled up in the corner by the banana tree, Big Guy was coming up the driveway and little Harry came clinking through the gate (he’s getting just a wee wide for it). Everybody had breakfast together. A little bit later I glanced out and saw Big Guy doing that slow motion kitty thing so I went out in time to see him & Unpop in one of those cartoon whirlygigs of violence. I couldn’t think where the sprayer thingee was so stupidly I ran over to them and tried to prod them apart with my foot … Unpop took off down the baby possum lane with Big Guy right on his tail and then they raced across the yard and under the house. Big Guy clearly had the edge and wasn’t giving up so maybe someday Unpop will get the idea? Here’s hoping. Poor Junie hates violence and so I picked her up and carried her around while we checked on the plants. So far it looks good and I don’t think I’ve killed anything through neglect. It should be sunny the rest of the day so I’ll give them a good watering (shower & mist!)

One response to “Camping Out (pt. 2)

  1. What an adventure!

    I’d write more, but my time on this computer is limited and I am POOPED.

    I’ll try to call later.

    m

Leave a Reply

