To Boston!

I’m very fortunate to have the opportunity to go to a professional convention in Boston this spring.  I’ve never been there.  I attended the New Music Festival in NYC pre-Disney and stayed near Times Square;  I traveled to Baltimore to give a presentation when I was in graduate school many years ago.  I still have the sweatshirt I bought there.  It’s one of my favorites.  I’d like to visit there again.

I did some research yesterday and decided to stay in Cambridge and take public transport into Boston each day.  It turned out to be just the ticket as far as what is allowed for expenses.

I’ve got a lot of researching to do!  I want to ask my colleagues which presentations they are interested in and try to make them all while trying to see every place I can before I have to leave.

I didn’t expect this — I actually had thought it was an impossibility — but now it’s come true!  I’m very excited about it and yet, it means much more to juggle.  I will have to plan a lot more  and by the end of March, there will be plants to care for in the garden.   I’ll miss a weekend of working on the yards.

If only I could stay awake for four days.  Yipes, now that I typed that . . . it was only a wish.  Having gone to Denver last year, I think I can get myself together for Boston (even on short notice) this year.

3 responses to “To Boston!

  1. it’s going to be great! the public transport is pretty reliable (although the subway ain’t as spotless as the one in Mexico City) … and remember, compared to Houston, it’s such a tiny compressed place you’ll practically be able to walk to all the places you’d probably want to see (and some of ’em might already be in Cambridge) … yay! … and pups/kits/OKs & Garden will be fine (I’ll make sure!)

    • I’m pretty exited about it. And grateful to you in advance for helping with the critters and such.

      It’s been so busy at work! I’m sorry I missed you if you called today. I only got to leave about 40 minutes early 😦

  2. oh bummer! about work I mean … today would have been a good day to stay home & nap, if you ask me …

Leave a Reply

