Happy Halloween!

No trick or treaters again this year.  I live in an older neighborhood with a rather permanent ownership ratio, so there haven’t been trick or treaters for a few years now.  Up until this year, I had at least carved a couple or three pumpkins and lit them with candles.  It didn’t work.

My mom and sis went out to trick or treat with me nieces.  The oldest reportedly dressed as a bumble bee; the middle one as a cheerleader; and the littlest as Bell from Beauty and the Beast.  (When she was trying to tell me last weekend, I kept hearing “bear” which I thought was cool.  “l’s” and “r’s” and all that.)

The weather was beautiful today.  I worked in the yard.  a branch on my Chinese Orchid tree snapped earlier in the week (strong wind) and was hanging over the sidewalk.  Another branch was drooping down near the porch.  (I learned from This Old House that stoop comes from Dutch.  I didn’t know that.  I also got some very good tips about how to fix my gutter problem.)

It was cool and so poor Dora was not happy.  She found the one sunlit spot and planted herself there.  Frying her brains is what she does outside.  Tammy and Murphy are now barking at ‘neighbor’ — the crazy guy from down the street, who during the two weeks after Ike told me that my pups were talking to him.  The poor guy lost his ride and now routinely walks to the supermarket and rolls back a shopping cart with just two or three things in it.  He never returns the cart.

I went to the “in process” somewhat new Kroger on 11th street today.  I needed a plan for lunches for next week, but I didn’t have one when I went.  I found a couple of good cuts for not much money, so I figure I can do one in a baking bag tomorrow with potatoes, carrots and a tomato.  The other, I will slice up for sandwiches.

I found a low sodium mushroom sauce that will hopefully liven up the leftovers from a rather tasteless crock pot misadventure I had.

The new Kroger is very nice — it has a Whole Food feel to it.  It has bulk candy, nuts and GRAINS!  When I was cooking for the pups, I always looked for bulgher and such.  I don’t think I’m going to start cooking for them again, but I might.  Bulgher is also something I liked when I was in Latvia, so I might get some next time — just for me!

Lastly, it’s a little chilly out, and my air return register is still sealed up after Ike (so no central heat right now), but I finally found a room heater that was designed, engineered and assembled in the U.S.A.  It’s from Vornado.  I have a feeling that the parts perhaps were made in China, but all of the other heaters were completely made there, so I hope I got close enough.

One response to “Happy Halloween!

  1. In Austin there were a lot of family units out and about, usually with one stroller per unit, so we got to see Baby Dracula, Baby Witch, Baby Spider-girl, and Baby Something I Couldn’t Figure Out … pretty cute, all in all … and there were still enough Junior Mints left over for a certain someone with a major sweet tooth …

Leave a Reply

