An Update to my Rant about Red, White & Blue on Houston PBS

I was pretty ticked off this past Friday night when a show that I had praised (and enjoyed) for a long time decided to put a local talk show host on to debate the health care issue with an elected state representative and another guy (economist?) against reform.

I sent an email to the general manager of the station on Friday and got a reply today.  He states that no elected officials wanted to come on the program.

It seems to me that Dan Patrick himself was unwilling to come on the program, so he sent his employee instead.

But if that is not the case, it speaks badly for local conservatives/republicans that they were afraid to go on a local program that is in some ways connected with one of their political allies.

Where are the local republican’s town hall meetings on health care?  I seem to only find Democrats holding them and tea party people advertising them.

I’ll include a Michael Berry vanity tag to this post even though it’s not about him.

8 responses to “An Update to my Rant about Red, White & Blue on Houston PBS

  1. Good you got a reply and the substance of it is pretty informative in itself!
    Funny about M. Berry stopping by (hi Michael!!)
    His being flattered over the fact that you skewer him on a regular basis confirms my feeling that he, like his idol Rlimbaugh, think of themselves more as entertainers than anything else. They love to see their name in print, no matter what the context, so long as that old moniker gits spelled right!

    • I’ve decided to add a ‘vanity Michael Berry’ tag to every post.

      So like tomorrow when I post some pics about the OKs or the yard, I’ll add Michael Berry in the tags. He’ll love it.

  2. This is horribly tacky.. but next time one of the four footed ones has a ‘potty’ accident.. you can mention it with the Michael Berry tag

    • Mike, you want me to be tacky? Please.

      I think Berry is going to cave any day now and go Galt on us all since he’s a libertarian now. (He’s a little late to the bandwagon.)

  3. You wrote: “It seems to me that Dan Patrick himself was unwilling to come on the program, so he sent his employee instead.”

    Sen. Patrick was on vacation last week. In fact he was on a boat in the middle of the ocean when the program was taped. In fact, anyone who listens to his show would have noticed that he had been off the air for 3 weeks. He returned to the air on Monday. I sure hope you correct your mistake by posting a blog correction.

    • Yes, Court, it’s my fault that I didn’t know Dan Patrick was on vacation on a boat. You see, if I tune into KSEV and hear Paul Bettencourt’s voice, I switch stations.

  4. What mistake? He was unwilling to come on the show because he was on some boat in the middle of the ocean.

  5. Don’t they have telephone’s on board a boat? I have heard plenty of folks do interviews remotely on both TV and Radio. Works better on the Radio but even on TV they do a voice link and throw up a stock picture.

    I mean if he wants his vacation that’s cool, I know I like to relax on my vacations too.. but the straight fact is that ‘He was unwilling… ‘ is correct, that he was on vacation might let others understand WHY he was unwilling, but being on a boat in the middle of the ocean hasn’t been an excuse for being incommunicado since at least the 70’s.

    So let’s get it straight, he was unwilling with a decent enough excuse not unable.

Leave a Reply

