Forgiveness, Mercy and Grace

I missed this on 60 Minutes when it first air in March of this year.  While most of the focus is on the methods used for working with eyewitness (which of course this case revolutionized), what struck me was the end of the first segment.  When the victim, Jennifer, realizes that the man she thought had raped her had not, based on DNA evidence, she couldn’t really deal with it.  She blamed herself for his loosing 11 years of his life.  She felt guilty for praying that he would get raped in prison and die.  She asked to meet him, Ronald Cotton, and he forgave her.  She described his mercy and his grace.

This reminded me of how the Amish community forgave the mass murder who killed their young children and of the father, here in Houston, who forgave his son for the murder of his wife and second son.

If only we could have a little bit more of that mercy and grace in the world and a little less of the eye-for-an-eye attitude that seems to prevail.

8 responses to “Forgiveness, Mercy and Grace

  1. Forgiveness is, indeed, a powerful thing. For a little more perspective, you might want to check out this brief video — ahamoment.com/pg/moments/view/1888 — it’s one woman’s “aha moment” experienced as she realized she needed to forgive in order to move forward with her life in a positive manner. I think you’ll appreciate her story, and I hope you find the entire site interesting. It was created by Mutual of Omaha to highlight good works, inspirational stories, and “aha moments” of all kinds.

    Thanks,

    jack@ahamoment.com

    • I’ve seen the ads.

      I was trying to focus on something more.

      I don’t want to be part of an ad campaign, and neither did any of the people I cited.

      You have a product to sell. I was just making a point.

      Good luck with your ad campaign.

  2. MMmm I won’t visit Jack’s link then!

    Thanks for this Michelle, that was a very touching and insightful article. I had heard hints of this sort of thing before, but this helped solidify it.

    • Thanks, Mike. Though I can never imagine what it would be like to have someone I love die or be in a situation like Ronald Cotton, I hope I could summon that same mercy and grace.

  3. Michelle, I certainly didn’t mean to detract from your post or to cause any upset. My appreciation for your post was what caught my attention and prompted my response. Just thought you might appreciate what the woman in the video had to say. All the best.

    • Jack, I apologize for my earlier comment. It was very harsh and I should have given it more thought before I hit the reply button.

      It’s a constant struggle for me and I often don’t succeed.

      Thanks for your kind comments and please accept my apology.

      • No need to apologize at all, and I do appreciate your thoughtful consideration. Again, all the best.

        • In keeping with the spirit of this post and the comments, I thank you for your graciousness, Jack.

          I’ve given it some more thought and I now see the campaign you are supporting as something like the Dove ad campaign featuring ordinary women and not models. That was something I embraced, and one of my students actually wrote about it when I suggested it.

          I was too quick to dismiss the value of what you are doing. You have been very kind, despite my harsh reaction, and that means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

