She Ended up in the House

tortie

She’s tiny and light as a feather, despite being pregnant.  I finally settled on putting her in the second bathroom.

She’s already made a mess of her first litter box, but hey, what can you expect from a nature girl?

I hope she turns out to be a good mom.  It’s hard to know.  The first cat that I had that had kitchens was an instant expert.  She ran everyone’s lives, including mine.  The second one was a real pushover.  He kittens wore her out.

Hopefully, I’ll be here when she has them.

6 responses to “She Ended up in the House

  1. Damned at Random

    She is a beauty. I hope you can get a little weight on her before the kittens start nursing. I take it she is pretty tame? If you can make friendly now, she will be less stressed when the kitties are born, but I would give her a little covered area- maybe a box if there is room in the cage so she feels secure for the birth. Failing that, cover half the cage with a towel or blanket so she feels like she is in a den and safe from predators.

    I’m very excited for you. I love babies – species is a secondary consideration.

  2. I gave her wet food last night and she scarfed it down. (And she’s figured out the litterbox! smart girl!)

    She’s very sweet and tame. It makes me think that she wasn’t born feral, but rather dumped in the park.

    That’s a good idea to cover part of the crate. I think I’ll use a sheet to do it and then try to pry the window open just a bit to give her some fresh air.

    I’m relieved to finally have her where I can keep an eye on her.

  3. Damned at Random

    I’m down to my last house-born kitten. His name is Sugar and he is 14 years old. I’ll never forget seeing him born, and what a good mama Hillary was (she was rescued from a drainage pipe where I was working at the time). Suge has been a great cat – very healthy, but I had a cancerous growth cut off his eyelid last month, so I know I need to treasure him while I have him.

  4. It’s going to be a temptation to hover around her (before the kittens & after) … she might need to have a little ‘do not disturb’ sign to hang on her crate … the towel over the top is definitely a good idea …

  5. I don’t want to leave.

    If she births those babies while I am in Denver, I will cry.

  6. No babies yet. She’s just seems happy and peacefull. She ate another packet of wet food this evening.

    You know, D@R, the best cat I ever had was born in my bottom dresser drawer. She was legendary. Had one of her eye shot with a beebee gun a week after she had her kittens. Had surgery while she was nursing them. One bit of shot stayed in her eye for sixteen years.

    I know how you feel about your Suge.

Leave a Reply

