I Forgot the Watermelons

Back in the ’80’s my mom and sister had a business.   It was in the “Arts and Crafts.”  They sold a lot of wooden decorations to white people.  A lot of it was wooden “piccaninnies” with watermelons.  White women like my mom at that time paid good money to decorate their houses with them.

I went to a baby shower for a friend in one of those neighborhoods a few years ago and I saw some of those “piccaninnies” and I knew exactly where I was.

I wouldn’t be surprised to find that same sort of decoration in this man’s house.

I hated every minute of the time I was guilted into selling that crap for my family.  They knew how I felt and what I thought and they still asked me to help them.  I hated every bit of it and I made sure they knew, but they also knew thay could force me to help.

It’s one of the worst things I have ever done.

I guess I am that evil person.  I didn’t fight hard enough.

I don’t rub it in their faces either.

I’m the worst of the worst.

Here’s the link.

3 responses to “I Forgot the Watermelons

  1. I’m waiting for the mayor to announce he’s an alcoholic or addicted to painkillers or depressed or something. The part where he says that he didn’t realize watermelons have a stereotypical history of being linked to African-Americans is bizarre. Then what was the point of the stupid postcard? Is he suggesting that it wasn’t the watermelons that were funny but just a bunch of anything outside the White House? Dandelions? Poodles? Ladders? WTF???

  2. Michelle,

    I totally agree with you about the automatic blog linking. Usually, when I write a post about racism or hate crimes or something like that, WordPress decides that the hate sites that actually advocated hate crimes are related to mine. 🙂

    So it’s a breath of fresh air to follow an automatic link and not wind up at some crazy right-wingnut’s blog. Speaking of which, is it me or are there a lot of crazy right-wing wackos in the blogosphere? WTF?

  3. No, it’s not you; it’s true. In the fall of 2007, I wrote a lot about a guy who shot two Colombians in the back as they were running away from his neighbor’s house after allegedly robbing it. The wingnut haters came out of the woodwork.

    Your comment reminded me that I want to add a blogroll — I’ll add your blog when I do so, because I like your writing and the topics you choose.

Leave a Reply

