“Just Watch the Movie”

In passing in the hall, I heard one student tell one of my upper level students who is in my reading class that she shouldn’t have read the book for our class, but just watch the movie.  I was happy to hear her explain why that wouldn’t work.

Today was a busy, but good day.  I have worried too much about a group that seems quietly confident and have enjoyed the spirited conversations about “I am Legend” with a second group.  My third group is spotty, but may do well.

As the term comes to an end, I think I have done all I can to prepare them for the next level.  Looking forward, I have a lot of writing to do — several more upper level reading tests — both the source and testing matierial.  I should write more here, just to get my writing going.

We;ll see if I can do it.

8 responses to ““Just Watch the Movie”

  1. Tie in to a couple posts down – can you see a student who is looking to get out of reading I Am Legend try to slog through manditory Ayn Rand? She puts me to sleep faster than the biblical begats.

  2. Ha! There was a movie made from one of Rand’s books, wasn’t there? I can just picture the look on my students’ face if I assigned them any of her books!

  3. Oh yeah! that would go over like a lead balloon! Apart from the fact that her best-known novels are long as hell (she refused to allow them to be edited, badly as they needed them), the movie of “The Fountainhead” has become inadvertently funny over time. Patricia Neal is pretty good (per usual) but Gary Cooper is supposed to play the architect/intellectual and although he looks great in a suit the effect vanishes the moment he opens his mouth. He was much better playing men of few (very few) words. Personally, I’ll never be able to hear ‘Ayn Rand’ without summoning up the creepy image of a young Alan Greenspan sitting at her feet, gazing up at her with rapt adoration as she talked and talked and talked and talked ……

  4. Greenspan’s indecipherable spouting have really been exposed as so much nonsense in the past few months, eh? Though I would never have wished what has happened on anyone or any country, at least he won’t be cited as an authority without a huge asteric next to his name.

  5. In all seriousness, I ask you all to give me some ideas for a different book/movie combo for Summer I session that starts in May.

    I can always do this same book, but I’d like to do another.

    Any ideas? Remember it has to be a relatively recent movie and a book that can be read by ESL students in 6 weeks (a chapter or two a day).

    All suggestions are welcome.

  6. Hey! What about “War of the worlds” by H.G. Wells? We just got the Penguin 2005 ed. (there are tons of different editions, as you can imagine) & it is 199 pages, some of which is probably commentary, background stuff that you could skip. AND there are 2 movies (1953, with Gene Barry, 85 min.) & of course, the Tom Cruise one from 2005 which is longer (you’d have to have a steady finger on the mute button though, for every time Dakota F. lets go with one of them ear-shattering little-girl screams … which happens a lot in the movie … AND, for an added bonus, I think there’s an audio CD available of Orson Welles’s radio broadcast …

  7. Even though that is another Sci-Fi books — it’s a good idea. And the whole story of Welles’s broadcast would be an interesting side path to explore how people can be fooled by media, and the UFO thing, too.

    The more I think about it, the better it sounds!

    I want to make sure it’s connected to the U.S. and you helped make that connection.

    BIG THANKS!!!!

  8. Oh! and maybe we could do a Lexis/Nexis search for news reports around the Welles broadcast . . .

    This idea is growing on me. . .

Leave a Reply

