A Mistake I Had Only Dreamed Of

I screwed up today.  I have tried to be very careful not to let Dora in the same room as Tammy.  I have also had the fear of screwing up.  Usually I worried that it would be late at night, just as I was going to bed, or forgetting which one was in what room when I got home.

When Dora is in my room, and she needs to go outside, I put Tammy and Murphy in the other bedroom.  Dora always runs to that bedroom door first before running to the front door.

Earlier this afternoon, I forgot that Dora was in my bedroom with me and Tammy and Murphy were in the living room.  I was listening to what was on teevee through the bedroom door and just opened it to say something to Roberto, who was in the living room.  Dora rushed out and ran right into Tammy and Murph.  For a second we were all stunned, then Dora went after Tammy.  I fell to the floor between them and pulled Dora off Tammy.  Thankfully Roberto was here to save my mistake and was able to get Tammy into my room.

Instinctively, I grabbed Dora and held her to my chest as tightly as I could.  Murphy kept his distance.  He didn’t bark or come near Dora and me.  He just went up on his back legs, looking for help or direction.  Roberto got him out the front door.

It really shook us all up.   I really screwed up.  Roberto saved my screw up, and I am grateful, forever grateful.

Things are back to normal now.  Tammy was anxious earlier but has calmed down.  Murphy protected the yard all alone for a few hours and showed himself to be capable.  He’s now in here with Tam sleeping, while Dora is barking at nothing in the front yard.  Getting it out of her system, I guess.

I’m ordering an Anxiety Wrap for Dora.  My hope is that it will calm her down, not that she will ever be able interact with Tammy or Murph again.

Murph has been really sweet to Tammy this evening.  And he likes this plastic bone and his Kong toy.  He’s a good boy.  He showed it today and this evening.  Oh, and I almost forgot.  He even helped wash off the porch earlier by wiggling all over it while I sprayed it with the hose.

Leave a comment