Shelley Sekula Gibbs is Back on the Campaign Trail

Since before Christmas, I’ve heard Shelley Sekula-Gibbs on the local 1070 AM radio station.  (The station routinely runs little commentary-blurbs by people who write at Townhall — Hugh Hewitt, Cal Thomas etc.)  The difference with Shelley’s is that they are paid political advertisements that seem to be the same type of commentary as the others.  She calls them “The Shelley Sekula Gibbs Report.”  The transcript of the first one is here.  The first part:

As a physician, I’ve heard plenty about the supposed conflict between science and religion. But I’ve found that if you wait long enough, science eventually catches up to what Christians have been saying all along.

When I heard this, my first thought was, ‘The earth is really only 6000 years old?’  But, no.  That’s wasn’t where she was going with this.

Look at the issue of life. Thanks largely to sonogram technology, more young women than ever describe themselves as pro-life.

Well, not exactly largely.  Like all others, it’s a little more complicated than that. And this next part is just not accurate:

 And now, scientists have announced that ordinary skin cells can be modified to become pluripotent adult stem cells – cells they said a few short months ago could only come from aborted human embryos.

Here new ad, that I heard for the first time yesterday is at the bottom of her home page.  It’s basically a rant about some bill related to undocumented workers (so she claims) that Nick Lampson, the guy whose seat she’s running for, supposedly voted for.  I looked for the bill, but couldn’t find it, so I’m guessing that she’s spinning it pretty hard.

Word is that the primary will be nasty.  They’ve already started bickering over who has lived in the district the longest.  (There’s nineof them.)  Even Tom DeLay came out, as I recall, and could settle all the TX 22 republicans down.  It should be fun to watch.

3 responses to “Shelley Sekula Gibbs is Back on the Campaign Trail

  1. It’s basically a rant about some bill related to undocumented workers (so she claims) that Nick Lampson, the guy whose seat she’s running for, supposedly signed.

    She claimed he SIGNED a bill?

    Did she confuse Lampson for the President?

    Weird.

  2. aack — I blame it on the puppies. I’ll fix it.

    Kevin, are you (or someone you know) interested in adopting a puppy? I’ve got four cuties that I rescued a weeka nd a half ago. I’ll have better pics up over the weekend. They aren’t ready to go yet, but I thought I’d ask 😉

  3. Oh, and Kevin, do you know which bill she’s on about?

    Thanks

Leave a comment