Another Safe New Year’s

Compared to years past, this New Year’s Eve was relatively quiet on my block.  No one set off fireworks.  There were plenty going off, and gun shots, too, but it was all several blocks away.  The pups got a little spooked, and the kittens (with the exception of Cisco) were nervous, but by 1:00 a.m., things had quieted down, and they were fine.

I’ve never understood why people feel compelled  to shoot off fireworks in their own neighborhood.   When I first moved into my house it was much worse.  Every New Year’s and 4th of July, I would call hoping that just one patrol car would drive down the street.  It never happened.  Two years ago, my next door neighbor’s garage caught on fire in the middle of the night.  Luckily, my pup Dora woke me up.  Two garages and two trees burned.  It was terrifying.   Especially since then, I have always hoped for rain on those two holidays.

Leave a Reply

